Lullaby

Now you lay you down to sleep
Insomnia begins to creep
Darkened thoughts enter your head
And serve to raise your sense of dread

An effort to calm your mind in haste
The demons in your room, erase
You begin to think your nightly chant
And hope the monsters will recant

“Nothing will harm me, nothing is real
I’m simply experiencing irrational fears
Tonight is not the night I pass
Tomorrow morning I will laugh

At how stupid I’m being now
At how my fear seems so endowed
I’ll go to sleep and end the night
Another day I’ll live to fight!”

You feel calm as words take hold
You feel less scared and much more bold
The chant will stop when it’s sleeping time
But it’s the cold, dead hand that stops this rhyme

Leave a Reply

